Announcing: 'the churchie' 2020 News

Announcing: 'the churchie' 2020

24 August 2020

The IMA and Churchie are excited to share new details of the forthcoming churchie emerging art prize.

After being postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, ‘the churchie’ returns to the Institute of Modern Art 18 September–19 December.

The 2020 finalists’ exhibition, curated by Talia Smith, will showcase work by Nathan BeardTom BlakeJessica BradfordMarina Pumani BrownMartin GeorgeYasbelle KerkowGuy LoudenLachlan McKeeGeorgia MorganNabilah NordinJames NguyenEmily Parsons-Lord, and Athena Thebus.

We welcome Tarun Nagesh as the new judge in lieu of COVID restrictions preventing previously announced judge Mikala Tai from traveling to Brisbane. Nagesh is a Curator of Asian Art at the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane and is part of the lead curatorial team of the Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (APT).

‘the churchie’ offers a prize pool of $25,000, with the overall winner receiving a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize donated by long-standing sponsor, BSPN Architecture along with a $5,000 Special Commendation Prize sponsored by Fardoulys Constructions, two $1,000 Commendation Prizes and a $3,000 People’s Choice Award sponsored by Madison Cleaning. Prize winners will be announced via livestream on IMA social media on the evening of Friday 18 September.

Gallery visitors are invited to vote for the recipient of the People’s Choice Award, to be announced at the conclusion of the exhibition.

Stay up to date with the latest news via ‘the churchie’ and IMA social media channels.

Georgia Morgan, 'Paradise Utility', 2019.

Related Exhibition

the churchie

emerging art prize 2020

18 Sep–19 Dec 2020

The Institute of Modern Art acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land upon which the IMA now stands, the Jagera, Yuggera, Yugarapul, and Turrbal people. We offer our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first artists of this country. In the spirit of allyship, the IMA will continue to work with First Nations people to celebrate, support, and present their immense past, present, and future contribution to artistic practice and cultural expression.