Staff & Board

  • Robert Leonard


    Robert Leonard (he/him) is an art curator and writer with over three decades of experience. He has returned to the Director’s seat, having earlier led the IMA, from 2005 to 2013. In New Zealand, he held curatorial posts at Auckland Art Gallery, City Gallery Wellington, Dunedin Public Art Gallery, New Plymouth’s Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, and Wellington’s National Art Gallery, and directed Auckland’s Artspace. He was the curator of New Zealand pavilions at the Venice Biennale in 2003 and 2015.


  • Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer

    Assistant Director — Operations

    Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer (he/him) is an artist and arts worker with ten years experience in the industry. He has worked at Artspace, Sydney, and Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery, Sydney, and as a lecturer and tutor at University of Technology, Sydney, and Queensland College of Art, Brisbane. He has exhibited in Australian and international galleries. He graduated with Honours from a Bachelor of Design in Photography and Situated Media at UTS, Sydney, in 2014, and completed a Masters of Fine Art (Research) at UNSWAD, Sydney, in 2019.


  • Kate Usher

    Assistant Director — Programs

    Kate Usher (she/her) is an arts manager and performing-arts curator. She has held positions at Studio1, Supercell Festival, Ausdance, Museum of Brisbane, Metro Arts, Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and Queensland Museum. She graduated from Queensland University of Technology, with a Bachelor of Creative Industries (Dance) in 2008, a Graduate Certificate in Arts Administration in 2009, and a Masters in Creative Production and Arts Management in 2011, where she was awarded the grade of High Distinction. In 2020, she was awarded the Weary Dunlop Fellowship for Asialink Business Leaders through the University of Melbourne.


  • Tina Agic

    Marketing Communications Producer

    Tina Agic (she/her) has delivered communications in diverse fields, including working for 4ZZZ and the Office of Kevin Rudd. She holds a Bachelor of Journalism and Arts from the University of Queensland, and is completing a Graduate Diploma in Museum Studies at the University of Sydney. 


  • Nadine Schmoll

    Education Manager

    Nadine Schmoll (she/her) is an educator experienced in working with diverse audiences. She holds a Graduate Diploma in Secondary Education (Visual Arts) and has worked across curriculum areas, including art, design, fashion, history, science, and English. Prior to joining the IMA, she was Learn Curator at the Museum of Brisbane.


  • Caitlin Sheedy

    Shop Manager

    Caitlin Sheedy (she/her) graduated from Queensland College of Art. She was awarded the Win Shubert Graduate Prize for Fine Art and the Karl and Gertrude Langer Memorial Prize for the highest graduating student in printmaking. Prior to the IMA, she worked at the Museum of Brisbane and Artisan.


  • Jessica Dorizac-Aquilizan

    Shop and Front of House Assistant

  • Katie Rasch

    Associate Producer — Public Programs

    Katie Rasch (she/her) is an artist working with photography and digital media. She explores speculative myth making through the lens of Pacifika futurism to return to decolonial narratives. She playfully draws from her connections within the Pacifika and Queer community to explore her cultural learnings, championed by optimism and hope.


  • Misteria Towler

    Associate Producer — First Nations

    Misteria Towler (she/her) is an emerging Wiradjuri performing artist and choreographer. She has worked with the Aboriginal Centre of Performing Arts, Pride Festival Brisbane, Digi Youth Arts, and Brisbane Festival. She is currently completing a Bachelor of Secondary Education with the University of Southern Queensland. 

  • Dean Ansell

    Gallery Assistant

    Dean Ansell (he/them) is an artist of Melanesian (Rigorabana, Balawaia, Papua New Guinea), Maltese, and Anglo-Celtic descent. His practice is a material-oriented investigation into concepts of time, place, memory, and transformation; using the body, the earth, and its atmosphere in the works’ creation. He is currently studying a Bachelor of Visual Arts at the Queensland University of Technology. 

Board of Directors

Nick Dignan


  • Zoë Connolly

    Deputy Chair

  • Nerida Cooley


  • Christina Cho, Leighton Craig, D Harding, Tarun Nagesh, Courtney Pedersen, Kirsty Rourke, and Trish Szonert


  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Council

    D Harding (Chair), Katina Davidson, Les Malezer, and Warraba Weatherall

The IMA acknowledges, thanks, and pays our deepest respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people that we work with and the Country we work on.