Welcoming our new Board Members News

Welcoming our new Board Members

13 July 2021

The IMA is excited to announce the appointment of three new Board Members: Christina Cho, Zoë Connolly, and Tarun Nagesh. As leaders in their respective fields, we are thrilled to have their expertise and experience help guide the organisation. With their appointment, we farewell and thank leaving Board Members Simon Wright and Cal Malouf.

Christina Cho is a registered architect and national director of Cox Architecture, an international multi-disciplinary practice. She has worked in San Francisco, Seoul, and throughout Australia on diverse range of projects. Christina was awarded the 2018 National Emerging Architect Prize, and recipient of the Australian Financial Review Young Boss Executive. She was co-organiser of PechaKucha Night Brisbane for 10 years, curating and providing a platform for over 500 creatives from diverse backgrounds to learn, exchange ideas and collectively contribute to the culture of Brisbane. Christina continues to use public engagement to facilitate open and collective dialogue and advocate for design’s positive influence on our city.

Zoë Connolly has been working in arts administration and not for profit organisations for over ten years. Prior to her current role as Director of Development at Queensland Theatre, Zoe held a range of positions at Queensland Ballet, the Brisbane Writers Festival and the Great Barrier Reef Foundation. Her career in the arts followed time raising her three children and an early career in the law. In her current role with Queensland Theatre, Zoe is responsible for securing and sustaining 20 percent of the company’s annual revenue through philanthropic fundraising and corporate sponsorship. Zoe is passionate about the sustainability of the arts in all its forms, for the enrichment and benefit of our society as a whole.

Tarun Nagesh is Curatorial Manager, Asian and Pacific Art at the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) in Brisbane, Australia. He is part of the lead curatorial team of the Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (APT), having worked on the 7th, 8th and 9th and 10th editions. Tarun also regularly curates exhibitions for QAGOMA and is actively involved in commissions and acquisitions for the QAGOMA Collection. He is a regular contributor to journals and exhibition publications in Australia, and is the Queensland representative for the The Asian Art Society of Australia (TAASA).

The Institute of Modern Art acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land upon which the IMA now stands, the Jagera, Yuggera, Yugarapul, and Turrbal people. We offer our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first artists of this country. In the spirit of allyship, the IMA will continue to work with First Nations people to celebrate, support, and present their immense past, present, and future contribution to artistic practice and cultural expression.