Event Permanent Recession: a Handbook on Art, Labour and Circumstance

Permanent Recession: a Handbook on Art, Labour and Circumstance

Book Launch

30 November 2019

You’re invited to join Holly Arden, Angela Goddard, Llewellyn Millhouse, Hilary Thurlow, and Kyle Weise in conversation for the Brisbane launch of Permanent Recession, presented in partnership with Boxcopy.

Permanent Recession: a Handbook on Art, Labour and Circumstance is an enquiry into the capitals and currencies of experimental, radical, and artist-run initiatives in Australia.

Produced by All Conference, a collective network of fifteen artist-run initiatives from across Australia, the book excavates a shared history of independent practice stretching back to the 1980s. The book situates new research within a rich continuum of debate about the Australian artmaking context. Part research, part advocacy document, part literature review, part reader, Permanent Recession is a living contribution to current thought, and is designed to be a handy, practical resource.

Permanent Recession: a Handbook on Art, Labour and Circumstance is published by Onomatopee Projects (NL).

The book includes new and republished texts by Peter Anderson, Andrew Brooks, Andy Butler, David Corbet, Léuli Eshrāghi, Ben Eltham, Catherine Ryan, Colleen Chen, Tristen Harwood, Mark Jackson, Georgie Meagher, Macushla Robinson, Anne Marsh, Jacqueline Millner, Kate MacNeill, Bernice Murphy, Margo Neale, Spiros Panigirakis, Francis Russell, Kate Scardifield, Philipa Veitch, Amelia Wallin, and Tian Zhang; and transcribed discussions with Esther Anatolitis, Hana Pera Aoake, Marnie Badham, Clare Cooper, Sarah Gory, Lucie McIntosh, Lisa Radford, Pip Shea, Talia Smith, Pip Wallis, Katie Winten, and Tian Zhang. Edited by All Conference co-convener, Channon Goodwin.

Guest Info
  • Dr Holly Arden

    Dr Holly Arden is Associate Director, UQ Art Museum and an Affiliate Lecturer in Art History at UQ. Holly completed her PhD in Art History and Theory at Monash University in 2017, and she has previously served on the board of Blindside ARI, Melbourne.

    Angela Goddard

    Angela Goddard is the Director of Griffith University Art Museum and Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, Griffith University, responsible for the University’s art collection and exhibition and related programming of the gallery space situated on the South Bank Campus, which is also the site of the Queensland College of Art.  She joined the University in June 2015, after fifteen years at QAGOMA, seven of these as Curator of Australian Art. She is a board member of Shelia: A Foundation for Women in Visual Art and has previously been a board member of the IMA. She regularly writes and lectures on a wide range of periods and themes in Australian art.

    Llewellyn Millhouse

    Llewellyn Millhouse is an artist and arts worker who has been involved in several artist-run initiatives in Brisbane over the past seven years, most recently acting as a board member for gallery and studio complex Outer Space. In 2017 Llewellyn worked as the acting curator for the MetroArts exhibition program. Since 2018 he has been the Exhibitions and Production Manager at the Institute of Modern Art. Llewellyn holds a practice-based Doctorate of Philosophy from Queensland College of Art.

    Hilary Thurlow

    Hilary Thurlow is an emerging arts writer and worker from Brisbane, Queensland. She is a co-director at Boxcopy Contemporary Art Space, an artist-run initiative in Brisbane.

    Kyle Weise

    Kyle Weise is writer and curator. He is currently co-director of Kuiper Projects, and Curator (Exhibition Program) at Metro Arts.

Image courtesy of Onomatopee.

Similar Events

12 November 202212 Nov 2022

IMA Open Day

24 August 201824 Aug 2018

Jessica Quinn

Gallery Shop After Hours

22 June 201922 Jun 2019

IMA Belltower Launch

Mandy Quadrio and Sebastian Moody

17 August 202317 Aug 2023

Soft Sculpture with David Spooner + Gulnoza Akhmedova

Snack Pop-up

15 December 202215 Dec 2022

Late Night Shopping

IMA Gallery Shop

05 June 202105 Jun 2021

Book Rummage

IMA Gallery Shop

The Institute of Modern Art acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land upon which the IMA now stands, the Jagera, Yuggera, Yugarapul, and Turrbal people. We offer our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first artists of this country. In the spirit of allyship, the IMA will continue to work with First Nations people to celebrate, support, and present their immense past, present, and future contribution to artistic practice and cultural expression.