2017 Jeremy Hynes Award Shortlist News

2017 Jeremy Hynes Award Shortlist

4 July 2017

We are delighted to announce the shortlisted artists for the Jeremy Hynes Award 2017, our biannual award given to an emerging experimental Queensland-based artist. This year, four artists have been shortlisted including: Naomi Blacklock, Michael Candy, Lucy Forsberg, and Elizabeth Willing. Shortlisted artists will present works at the end of 2017, and the recipient will have an exhibition in IMA’s Green Room in 2018.

The award will be judged by Susan Best, Deputy Director (Research & Postgraduate), Professor of Art Theory and Fine Art, Griffith University.

Previous Jeremy Hynes Award recipients are Aaron Burton (2009), Alex Cuffe (2011), Chris Howlett (2013), and Liam O’Brien (2015).


Naomi Blacklock is a Brisbane-based artist who works primarily with sound installation, text works and performance. Her artworks involve an exploration and examination of mythologies regarding the witch archetype and harmful histories of gender and cultural identity.

Michael Candy is a kinetic artist who uses physical technologies to impart systems theory on ecology and sociology. He has been involved in many international and local projects, notably: First Draft (Sydney), Next Wave (Melbourne), The Instrument Builders ProjectHackteria Lab (Yogyakarta), and Hawapi (Peru).

Brisbane-based artist, Lucy Forsberg, graduated with a BFA (Visual Arts) honours from the Queensland University of Technology in 2016. Forsberg works predominantly with new media, assemblage and sculpture to examine socio-political issues within the Australian landscape.

Elizabeth Willing completed her honours in Fine Arts (Visual Arts)  in 2009, and is currently undertaking a Masters of Fine Art (research) at Queensland University of Technology. Solo exhibitions and dining performances have been held in Australia and overseas at Tolarno Galleries Melbourne, Kunstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin, and Gallery of Modern Art Brisbane.

The Institute of Modern Art acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land upon which the IMA now stands, the Jagera, Yuggera, Yugarapul, and Turrbal people. We offer our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first artists of this country. In the spirit of allyship, the IMA will continue to work with First Nations people to celebrate, support, and present their immense past, present, and future contribution to artistic practice and cultural expression.