The Churchie Emerging Art Prize 2022
  • Linda Sok.

  • Darcey Bella Arnold 'Yellow Red' 2022.

  • Daniel Sherington 'Untitled (Bullshit Landscape Painting Construct)' 2022.

  • Kevin Diallo 'Ode To Zouglou' 2021.


The Churchie Emerging Art Prize 2022

30 July–01 October 202230 Jul–01 Oct 2022


Since its inception at the Anglican Church Grammar School in 1987, The Churchie Emerging Art Prize has sought to identify and profile rising artistic talent. Today, it is one of Australia’s leading prizes for emerging artists. Presented at the IMA since 2019, the finalists’ exhibition provides a survey of the compelling, diverse work being produced by early-career artists today.

The prize is open to emerging artists from across Australia. Finalists are selected based on their practice, rather than a single piece, and work closely with a guest curator on their presentation at the IMA. Thanks to generous sponsors, the Churchie offers a prize pool of $25,000.

The 2022 finalists’ exhibition will be curated by Elena Dias-Jayasinha, an emerging Sri Lankan–Australian curator and art historian based in Brisbane. Her role is generously supported by Armitstead Art Consulting. Selected by guest judge Sebastian Goldspink, the Major Prize Winner will receive a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize donated by long-standing sponsor BSPN Architecture. Other prizes include a $5,000 Special Commendation prize sponsored by Fardoulys Constructions, and two Commendation prizes of $1,000 sponsored by Madison Cleaning Services.

A People’s Choice Award of $3,000, also sponsored by Madison Cleaning Services, will be announced at the conclusion of the show, and one lucky voter will receive a night away thanks to Spicers Retreats.


Darcey Bella Arnold (VIC), Emma Buswell (WA), Jo Chew (TAS), Kevin Diallo (NSW), Norton Fredericks (QLD), Jan Gunjaka Griffiths (WA), Jacquie Meng (ACT), Daniel Sherington (QLD), Linda Sok (NSW), Lillian Whitaker (QLD), Agus Wijaya (NSW), and Emmaline Zanelli (SA).

Curated By
  • Elena Dias-Jayasinha
Related Resources

The Institute of Modern Art acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land upon which the IMA now stands, the Jagera, Yuggera, Yugarapul, and Turrbal people. We offer our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first artists of this country. In the spirit of allyship, the IMA will continue to work with First Nations people to celebrate, support, and present their immense past, present, and future contribution to artistic practice and cultural expression.